2014: A Year in Review

Hi again,

It’s certainly been a while since I’ve written here on the blog and I sincerely apologize. That being said I’d like to review what I’ve accomplished in 2014:

Finished up the photo track at school with Photo III and Large Format 

This year I was able to finish up the photo track at my college a semester earlier than usual because I became an Adobe Certified Expert in Photoshop. Last spring I was in my Photo III class which is predominantly studio work (which I LOVE) and a lot of Photoshop (which I LOVE). This was the class I had wanted to take since I started college and I had the most fun in that course out of any of my other photo courses. Here’s some of my work from that semester:

How I Became Art

Audiotechnica Headphones

The iPhone

Untitled

Product Shot- Wacom Tablet

Me The Machine

White on White

Untitled

Untitled

Creative Portrait 1

Imitation Shot

I still find myself doing things in the studio very often because I have so much control over my images there.

I also did Large Format this past semester which I was a little reluctant to do at first. The class consisted of about a dozen or so students. Each student had a partner in the class who they would share a large format camera with for the duration of the course. It made things a little more tricky at least in terms of logistics and 4-5 other courses to take into account but it was not impossible. Shooting the camera was, by far, the most cumbersome part of the photographic process this semester. If you have never seen a large format camera it’s very a classic Ansel Adams accordion-style camera. Or, at least it’s what I think of when I think of Ansel Adams. The 4×5 camera looks like this:

IMG_2432IMG_2846

IMG_2858  IMG_2842

It certainly got a bit overwhelming walking around and setting up shots after a while but I found the rest of the process (developing and printing) pretty laid back this semester. Now that I’ve shot, 35mm, medium and large format I think I enjoy medium format the most out of three. Because, if I really had to shoot film, I’d want a completely different experience from what you get shooting DSLRs and I think I get that more between medium and even large format. Again, I still find that large format is a bit too much to lug around to make it fun for me long-term. Still I’m glad I finished the large format course. I posted some scans of my negatives to my Flickr account:

Large Format Nature 2

Large Format Nature 1

Large Format Architecture 2

Large Format Architecture

Large Format Closeup 2

Launched my website

I finally started up my own online website where you can find me and some of my work. This is a big deal for me because now I have business cards with one URL on them which makes it much easier for clients to find me online. It used to be that I would have to give them my number and my flickr URL and my email address. Now everything is in one place, nice and easy. I upload new work every so often. I may change the design around from time to time but for now, AlexHawkPhotography.com is where you can find me. It has my bio and a running list of awards and publications which is getting on the long side (not complaining).

Started getting into CGI

This year my interest in CGI work started growing after I became an Adobe Certified Expert in Photoshop and started to branch out a bit. I think CGI is a very obvious next step up from Photoshop/image manipulation and it’s been exciting to learn about it so far. I started a CGI blog over at: https://4threality.wordpress.com a few months ago and I very quickly realized that there’s an almost endless amount of information to grasp onto when learning about CG work. In 2015 I want to take this interest of mine even further, so we’ll see how it goes.

Have a happy New Year my friends!

-Alex

Leave a Reply

