Artists & Inspiration: Imogen Heap #2

I know I did one of these inspiration posts on Imogen Heap some time ago and I think it’s time for another.

I’m a huge huge fan of Imogen Heap’s music. It’s funny really, I enjoy a lot of photographers on the web but for whatever reason I don’t find them as inspiring as musicians or other artists outside of photography. I think part of the reason for this is that when I see a finished image I think, “yeah that’s a cool concept” and seldom do I find myself imagining something else. Occasionally I do find images where, buried in the pixels, is a shred of inspiration or a feeling that I’ll incorporate into my work. For the most part though I find music much more inspiring and motivating.

I hope that makes sense to some degree. Maybe what I’m getting at is music’s often strong ability to trigger what’s known as relational memory to specific events and emotions. Images can do the same and have done so throughout history but for me personally I find those instances to be few and far between. I can listen to a song a million times and feel the same exact feelings upon each listen. But if I look even just at my own pictures my perceptions and feelings toward them change more often over time.

Anyway, I really want to share some of Imogen Heap’s new songs with you because maybe you’ll get some inspiration for your own endeavors. Her new album Sparks will FINALLY come out in August…

Leave a Reply

