Summer Begins Now.

Hello again!

As I write this I am sitting amongst a heap of clothes and photography supplies looking to be packed away and brought back home for the end of the spring semester. I had a lot of fun in my Photo III class this semester which is all studio lights and Photoshop. I have been waiting for this class since I started at college as it is the photo course that is most in line with what I do on commissioned shoots and for fun in my free time. Personally, I think this was the most practical “real world” photo class we’ve had thus far but I guess it’s better late than never.

For me, this past semester in photography was much easier than previous semesters on film because I can play to my strengths with digital and Photoshop to my heart’s content. If there’s one thing I had to take away I think it’s important to remind myself to take a break when editing my images. I have a tendency to sit and do my post work for hours on end, which is great for getting the bulk of the work done, but the smaller imperfections get phased out of vision after a while. You may not notice it, but if you look at something long enough, your eyes get used to whatever you’re seeing and edit some of the smaller things out for you. It sounds silly but taking a break can go a long way. This isn’t something I’ve been able to do as often this semester because of other schoolwork and deadlines. Now that summer is upon us I’ll be able to sleep on a new image for a few days and look at it again to catch all the little stuff before finalizing anything. Overall though, I have really enjoyed being able to go all out this semester and hopefully this pace I’ve got going continues over the summer.

I’m very excited to get to work on some new concept images this summer. Each idea I come up with is always a little bit bigger and more difficult than the last which is exactly what I want. I can’t wait to share some new images with you!

Stay tuned and keep an eye out for new things at http://www.alexhawkphotography.com

-Alex

 

 

Leave a Reply

