Artists & Inspiration: Airborn

I don’t read many novels, most of the books I read have to do with photography or music or something really technical or boring for most people. Kenneth Oppel’s novel Airborn has been on my reading list for a long time. What drew me to this book is that it supposedly was the inspiration behind one of my favorite albums The Airship by Port Blue. A quick fill in- Port Blue is the more ambient/elevator music of the man behind Owl City. So, in reading this novel I wanted to sort of “cut out the middle man” and see what the inspiration was behind this set of songs in The Airship that I’d listened to a million times over.

I think what I got out of reading Airborn was a piece of the artistic process. I can compare the Port Blue album to the novel and see how different parts of the story were interpreted through music. This is something each artist has with their own work, everyone knows where the inspiration came from for their own work, but that may not come across to the outside audience.

My point is it’s fun to experience something that inspired someone else’s work that you like. It’s fun to backtrack the twists and turns of inspiration and watch how the work that is created from something else can evolve and change with different people. I would absolutely urge you to try backtracking with an artist that you like.

-Alex

1 comment
  1. I am fairly sure I really need to read airborne with it being entwined in Port Blue. 😀 Thanks ~

Leave a Reply

