Kindle Matchbook

As some of you may already know, I am a very big fan of online shopping on Amazon. I frequently take full advantage of my Prime membership and receive choice goods on my doorstep on an almost weekly basis.

This summer I became part of the Kindle family after purchasing my very own Kindle Paperwhite. It has been a joy to use and has made connecting with the content within each book that much simpler. The Paperwhite really sparked my appreciation for novels again. Until I bought a Kindle I almost exclusively read the “techie” type books often associated with photography.

My issue with digital books was always that I already owned a large physical library of books purchased from Amazon that I did not want to purchase again just to read on the Kindle. Now this has begun to change. If you have not already heard, Amazon recently did a sneaky update to its massive library. Amazon has begun what is to be called “Matchbook” in which Amazon customers can spend a couple of dollars to get Kindle versions of physical books they have previously purchased from Amazon.

This is a feature I had always wanted since I bought my Kindle. The Kindle Paperwhite works extremely well for reading text, but not so well for viewing photographs. What’s great about “Matchbook” is that I can now start to have both the physical and Kindle versions of the books I own. I can decide what format I wish to read depending on how much of it is comprised of images, in which case the physical copy would work best, or if the book contains more text I could then decide to read on the Kindle.

This is simply another brilliant play by Amazon. Well done.

-Alex

P.S.

I’m enjoying WordPress’ “Related Articles” feature. If ever you feel you need more information or just another opinion, please click the links beneath the “Related Articles” section below. These will not be on every single post, but I like incorporating them depending on my post’s topic.

Leave a Reply

