Make Yourself A Blog

This is the first new post on my new WordPress page! I have recently migrated all my things from my old Blogspot page and I will be posting new content here from now on. I felt it was necessary to make this change to WordPress because it does almost everything Blogspot can do and leaves a ton of room for expansion. At my Blogspot page, there are enough features for simple posting and a small amount of organization, at WordPress I already feel so much better about my blog. WordPress has more features (Free and Paid) than I know what to do with and everything seems to work as it should. At the Blogspot page I too often found myself revamping the page and incorporating feature that should’ve worked but did not despite being offered by Blogger. This site seems like an appropriate stepping stone towards my new website. in the next few days I am planning to purchase a domain name using WordPress and using this blog to hold down the space until I can get the rest of my new content together. I think it’s important as a photographer to be able to comfortably establish an online space and with WordPress it seems like I can do things step by step. Instead of trying to build a whole website and obtain a domain name and integrate the blog all at once it’s nice to be able to go at my own pace. Soon, I will have a domain name online and the blog will be the first thing on there until I can create everything else. I’m very excited about this transition I feel that it’s exactly what I needed to do while also keeping things manageable. That being said, I suggest re-subscribing to my blog over by the widget on the right-hand side of this page so that you can receive my posts in weekly emails. Anyway, now that the updates are out of the way, onto the post.

When I created this blog I didn’t really know what to make of it. Now, I view my blog as an online space to collect my thoughts and share them with others. The blog is tangible and it is my own. I’m always looking for something to do that will fulfill my creative urges and the blog has helped me so much on the days where I could not make progress towards an artistic goal. For example, being in college keeps me preoccupied with schoolwork and my personal pursuit of photography slows down to a snail’s pace. The blog is what keeps me sane during those times. The blog is the one part of my photographic/creative process that continues each week regardless of the other things I am doing.

Reasons I love this blog:

  • It’s an online space to collect and share ideas
  • I can post whatever I want, whenever I want
  • Nobody is telling me to run this blog, I’m doing it because I want to and I can stop whenever I want to.
  • Even if no one reads it, I can still see a neatly organized collection of my thoughts through writing
  • I can keep track of what I was doing at a particular time
  • I can track how I feel about art and just about everything else at a particular time
  • I can control frequency of posts through scheduled posting. If I write four posts in a day then I can publish them over the span of a few hours to weeks to months to years. If I wrote enough posts I could fully automate the blog to publish new content on its own while I am doing something else or if I am unable to post at a certain time.
  • WordPress allows integration with a domain name for less than 20 bucks a year. Since I’m making a website, having a domain name is a necessary first step towards accomplishing that goal and WordPress makes it easy.

That being said, if you’re passionate about something, make yourself a blog. It may seem like a chore at first but know that there is no rubric to follow, you can make it about anything you want. And once you learn the interface, posting can be as simple as mashing out a few sentences from your mobile phone.

A blog is a beautiful thing. Welcome to my humble abode.

-Alex

1 comment

Leave a Reply

