When to Leave a Website

When I upload pictures onto the web I usually choose to upload to my Flickr and Deviantart accounts. Over the past year I haven’t really been enjoying Deviantart. The question that arises is whether or not I ever really enjoyed Deviantart, no not really.
Don’t get me wrong, Deviantart is great for artists and it is nice for me to be able to use free stock images to create something from time to time, but I have never really felt at home there. When I started photographing, Flickr was my one and only platform to share my work. Uploading is easy, descriptions are simple, managing photos is quick. It is designed to view photography and Flickr does that extremely well. My problem with Deviantart is that although it hosts some great artist profiles, what is almost exclusively a photography community on Flickr is now split between a bunch of mediums on Deviantart. It is difficult to try to sift through drawing after drawing and painting after painting to find something I like.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s time for me to slow things down on Deviantart. The same way Myspace lost its following to Facebook and Twitter, I feel like it’s just time for me to focus my energy on other websites. I’m not deleting my Deviantart, social media is very much a “more the merrier” technology. As an artist, I have to decide what is best for me and it is my choice to venture towards a greater selection of platforms to view and share my work.

Out with the old.

-Alex

 

Leave a Reply

