Coming Home

The semester is over and I have returned home from college to sit back and relax for a month. It’ll be nice to be able to go take pictures every day and not have to worry about finishing a huge research paper or doing stats homework for days on end.

I suppose today is a good day for review and self-reflection. I hadn’t really thought about it too much, but I actually finished my first semester of college. This new chapter of my life was completely different than what I had expected. Unfortunately, I had just standard college requirement courses this semester, although, I would have loved to have a photography class to jump right into my major.

My English class was by far the most enjoyable and most interesting course this semester, just as English has always been for me. Before each class we had to read the opinion columns in the Washington Post and then just write how we feel about something. Initially, I thought it would be just all emotional responses like, “this makes me angry” and that’s it. In reality, each time I had to write something, I always had something more to say than just “I agree or disagree with this article” and I think that’s good.

My professor stressed the value of forming your own opinions and more importantly, being able to back them up with factual information to form an argument. This writing class was geared towards the content of arguments in a paper rather than its grammar, punctuation, and layout. That focus towards content really made the class for me, because it’s very similar to how I write this blog. I like to focus on a point or an idea to write about and formatting comes second. Granted, proper formatting is important but I would pay it much more attention if I was writing a research paper or getting a book published. This blog is supposed to be written informally, and hopefully it is, or at least that’s what I’m aiming for.

I am planning to write many new posts for this blog over the next few weeks now that I have so much free time.

Merry Christmas!

Alex

Leave a Reply

