External Hardrives

Data backup and integrity has been a rising issue these past few months especially. At first I started burning everything I wanted to save onto DVDs, but there have been a few instances of unreadable discs just a few months after burning. Luckily I’ve kept everything on my Western Digital My Book 1 terabyte external hard drive, which provided a place to save all my photos and media, but after dropping the DVD backup plan, I needed to purchase another form of redundancy.

A healthy trip to Best Buy and 100 bucks later got me a 2 terabyte external hard drive which I am currently using strictly for backup purposes. I’ve only had the second hard drive for about a week, but I’ve had the first one for about 3 or 4 years and I’ve never had a problem with it (even after kicking it over on a few occasions).

External hard drives are probably one of the least expensive, space and time saving ways to backup and save terabytes of data today. Not to push you one way or the other, but Western Digital makes some of the best consumer external HDDs out there. After I fill these two HDDs though, I don’t really know where I’m going to go from there, probably a server of some type. My room is completely tapped in regards to power outlets and cable space. I’m sure there will be another post about this in a year or two.

Leave a Reply

